Kehler Liddell Gallery: I am…

Share this Post

I’m very excited to be included in Keller Liddell Gallery’s “I am…” 4th annual juried exhibition.

Exhibition: Friday, July 31 – Saturday, August 30, 2020
Location: The Kehler Liddell Gallery |873 Whalley Avenue | New Haven, CT
Hours: Thursday & Friday, 11am-4pm; Saturday & Sunday, 10am-4pm; or by appointment

Kehler Liddell Gallery (KLG) presents: I Am…, the fourth annual juried show, featuring the work of 71 local and regional artists. The gallery will be open by appointment, as well as limited hours TBD, from July 31st – August 30th, 2020.

How do you see yourself? How do others see you? What makes you, you? From selfies to personal branding to the complexities of identity politics, our carefully crafted personas are routinely broadcast to the world via the internet. The modern world revels in the revelation of a semblance of self, allowing us to conceal as much as we reveal. In this age of unprecedented exposure, how can an artist offer some fresh statement of self?

These were some of the questions posed in this year’s call to artists for I Am…, the fourth annual juried show at Kehler Liddell Gallery. Curated by gallery artists, the collection contains work in a wide variety of media, from digital, new media, abstract expressions of self, to more traditional (and not so traditional) painted, drawn, photographed self portraits. As we all continue to navigate the world of social distancing, it feels ever more poignant to gather this collection of selves — of I AM — to create a powerful, revelatory voice of WE ARE.

Roughed In 60″ x 40″ Oil on Canvas

Participating Artists: Ioana Barac, Dee Rose Barba, Andrew Baris, Mark Battista, Dina Belyayeva, Megan Bent, Robert Bienstock, Marsha Borden, Trae Brooks, Amira Brown, Frank Bruckmann, Christine Chiocchio, Alexander Churchill, Jeanette Compton, Rod Cook, Lisa Davis Rucinski, Bobby Dileo, Anne Doris-Eisner, Rodd Dryfoos, Amanda Duchen, Beth Edwards, Joe Fekieta, Barbara Fenton, Brian Flinn, Julie Fraenkel, Jeffrey Gangwisch, Warda Geismar, Ellen Gordon, Ezra Gott, Karl Goulet, Allan Greenier, Kelley Griffin, Mark F. Grindell, Keri Halloran, Shamain A Hardy, Jackie Heitchue, Kate Henderson, Aude Jomini, Christina Jones, James Kaiser, Eben Kling, Lucas Lazarre, Whitney Lorenze, Marta Machabeli, Andrea Lawl Manning, Eric March, Mark St. Mary, Brian McClear, Fethi Meghelli, Christian Miller, Roy Money, Michael Moore, Hank Paper, Jennifer Rae, Taylor Nicole Richards, Jill Sarver, Victoria Selbach, Bob Silverstein, Courtney Silvia, Geoffrey Stein, Lisa Toto, Lisa Trotta, Anthony Videira, Maya Vulinovic, Kim Weston, Holly Whiting, Brian Williams, R.F. Wilton, Marjorie Gillette Wolfe, Amanda Walker, and Gar Waterman.

When visiting the gallery, please adhere to the following safety measures: 1) wear a mask at all times; 2) no more than 4 guests inside the space at a time; 3) sanitize your hands upon entry (available at the front desk); 4) keep at least 6ft distance between yourself and others; 5) if you’re sick and exhibiting symptoms of any kind, please stay home.